Which current F1 driver is the best

Formula 1: The most victorious field of all time

The 2021 starting field is one of the best of all time and definitely the most successful. We all have statistics.

Formula 1 starts its 72nd season at the weekend. And that with a record field. The 20 drivers bring it to 2338 grands prix, 14 world championship titles and 231 race victories. It is the most successful field of all time!

Formula 1 2021: 4 world champions with 14 world championship titles

Thanks to the return of ex-world champion Fernando Alonso, there are four Formula 1 champions in the field in 2021. There is even more: With Michael Schumacher, Fernando Alonso, Kimi Räikkönen, Lewis Hamilton, Jenson Button and Sebastian Vettel, the starting field in 2012 comprised the record number of six world champions. But just like in 2012, the titleholders will have 14 world titles in 2021 - never before have there been more world championships in one field.

In the picture gallery we show you all cars and all drivers in 2021. Just click on the picture:

The world champions in the starting field in 2021

1. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) 7
2. Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin-Mercedes) 4
3. Fernando Alonso (Alpine-Renault) 2
4. Kimi Raikkonen (Alfa Romeo-Ferrari) 1

Ten race winners with 231 triumphs

The number of ten race winners in the Formula 1 field is also far from being a record. At the 1978 Belgian and Spanish GPs, the field consisted of 15 GP winners. But the ten victorious drivers in the 2021 field will achieve a total of 231 successes - that is a new record. In 2012 there were at least 223 victories in the field at the final, at that time distributed among eleven drivers. The new high is of course due on the one hand to the increasing number of races in the calendar, on the other hand to the participation of the Formula 1 record winner Lewis Hamilton.

The race winners in the starting field in 2021

1. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) 95
2. Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin-Mercedes) 53
3. Fernando Alonso (Alpine-Renault) 32
4. Kimi Raikkonen (Alfa Romeo-Ferrari) 21
5. Max Verstappen (Red Bull-Honda) 10
6. Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes) 9
7. Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren-Mercedes) 7
8. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari) 2
9. Pierre Gasly (Alpha Tauri-Honda) 1
10. Sergio Pérez (Red Bull-Honda) 1

20 drivers with 2338 grands prix

Even before the Formula 1 season has started in 2021, the drivers will have a total of 2,338 grands prix. With Kimi Räikkönen (330 races) even the record starter in Formula 1 history is also involved. The Mercedes team is the most experienced duo in the field. Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas have 422 races. That is not yet a record: In 2016, the then McLaren duo Jenson Button and Fernando Alonso started the season with the experience of 538 races.

READ MORE: Calendar 2021 - GP Portugal is fixed!

The Haas team, on the other hand, relies on a rookie duo - as the first racing team in five years: Manor competed in 2016 with Pascal Wehrlein and Rio Haryanto. Mick Schumacher and Nikita Mazepin will start for Haas in 2021. The third newcomer to the field is Yuki Tsunoda from Japan for Alpha Tauri.

Incidentally, eight cockpits were newly manned in 2021. Mercedes, Alfa Romeo and Williams stuck to the driver duo from 2020, Haas filled both cockpits with fresh pilot material.

The race starts of the Formula 1 drivers in 2021

1. Kimi Raikkonen (Alfa Romeo-Ferrari) 330
2. Fernando Alonso (Alpine-Renault) 312
3. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) 266
4. Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin-Mercedes) 257
5th Sergio Pérez (Red Bull-Honda) 191
6. Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren-Mercedes) 188
7. Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes) 156
8. Max Verstappen (Red Bull-Honda) 119
9. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) 118
10. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin-Mercedes) 78
11. Esteban Ocon (Alpine-Renault) 67
12. Pierre Gasly (Alpha Tauri-Honda) 64
13. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari) 59
14. Antonio Giovinazzi (Alfa Romeo-Ferrari) 40
15. Lando Norris (McLaren-Mercedes) 38
16. George Russell (Williams-Mercedes) 38
17. Nicholas Latifi (Williams-Mercedes) 17
18.Yuki Tsunoda (Alpha Tauri-Honda) 0
19. Mick Schumacher (Haas-Ferrari) 0
20. Nikita Mazepin (Haas-Ferrari) 0

Two oldies in the field

Fernando Alonso will be 40 years old in July. Because Kimi Räikkönen is a 41-year-old driver at the start, for the first time since Brazil 2012 there will be two over 40s from the Hungarian GP in August. At that time, Michael Schumacher (Mercedes) was 43 years old and Pedro de La Rosa (HRT-Cosworth) was 41 years old. The youngest driver in the field is Yuji Tsunoda (20). He is also the first Formula 1 driver in history to be born in the 21st century.

By the way, the oldest driver duo has Alfa Romeo (34 years on average), ahead of Mercedes (33.5) and Alpine (31.5). The youngest stable colleagues are at Haas (22 years on average), Alpha Tauri (22.5) and Williams (24). The Ferrari duo is 24.5 years old - as young as a team of drivers at the traditional racing team was last in 1968.

The average age of drivers at the start in Bahrain will be 27.25 years, slightly less than in 2020 (27.43). In 2017, the drivers were only 26.78 years old on average. The oldest field of drivers went on the hunt at the Belgian GP 1951 - with an average of almost 43 years! The oldest starter at the time was Philippe Étancelin (Talbot-Lago) at 54 years of age, the youngest was Teddy Pilette (Talbot-Lago) at 32 years of age. That would make him the fifth oldest driver in the field in 2021!

The age of the Formula 1 stars at the beginning of 2021

1. Kimi Raikkonen (Alfa Romeo-Ferrari) 41
2. Fernando Alonso (Alpine-Renault) 39
3. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) 36
4. Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin-Mercedes) 33
5. Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren-Mercedes) 31
6. Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes) 31
7. Sergio Pérez (Red Bull-Honda) 31
8. Antonio Giovinazzi (Alfa Romeo-Ferrari) 27
9. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) 26
10. Nicholas Latifi (Williams-Mercedes) 25
11. Pierre Gasly (Alpha Tauri-Honda) 25
12. Esteban Ocon (Alpine-Renault) 24
13. Max Verstappen (Red Bull-Honda) 23
14. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari) 23
15. George Russell (Williams-Mercedes) 23
16. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin-Mercedes) 22
17. Nikita Mazepin (Haas-Ferrari) 22
18. Mick Schumacher (Haas-Ferrari) 22
19. Lando Norris (McLaren-Mercedes) 21
20. Yuki Tsunoda (Alpha Tauri-Honda) 20

13 nations, two Germans

Formula 1 is a world championship. The 20 drivers come from 13 nations. Great Britain has the largest number of drivers with three drivers (Lewis Hamilton, Lando Norris and George Russell). Finland, Canada, France, Spain and Germany with Sebastian Vettel and Mick Schumacher also have two pilots each. The Netherlands, Monaco, Japan, Italy, Russia, Mexico and Australia each provide a driver.

All teams & drivers at a glance

Lewis Hamilton (36 / GBR) Mercedes
Valtteri Bottas (31 / FIN) Mercedes
Max Verstappen (23 / NED) Red Bull-Honda
Sergio Pérez (31 / MEX) Red Bull-Honda
Lando Norris (21 / GBR) McLaren-Mercedes
Daniel Ricciardo (31 / AUS) McLaren-Mercedes
Lance Stroll (22 / CAN) Aston Martin-Mercedes
Sebastian Vettel (33 / GER) Aston Martin-Mercedes
Esteban Ocon (24 / FRA) Alpine-Renault
Fernando Alonso (39 / ESP) Alpine-Renault
Charles Leclerc (23 / MON) Ferrari
Carlos Sainz (26 / ESP) Ferrari
Pierre Gasly (25 / FRA) Alpha Tauri-Honda
Yuki Tsunoda (20 / JPN) Alpha Tauri-Honda
Kimi Raikkonen (41 / FIN) Alfa Romeo-Ferrari
Antonio Giovinazzi (27 / ITA) Alfa Romeo-Ferrari
Mick Schumacher (22 / GER) Haas-Ferrari
Nikita Mazepin (22 / RUS) Haas-Ferrari
George Russell (23 / GBR) Williams-Mercedes
Nicholas Latifi (25 / CAN) Williams-Mercedes