Can people see my facebook profile

Facebook: "Ads from the point of view of ..." returns after the hacker attack

With all the different privacy settings that Facebook offers its users, it is no wonder that they were confused about which visitor can now see what exactly from their profile. For this purpose, Facebook introduced the "Ads from the point of view of ..." function. If Facebook users wondered how their close friends, friends of their friends, or the public would see their profile, they could check it out using a small button under the cover picture.

The function had a security flaw and has been deactivated

But in September 2018, hackers used a security hole in this function and damaged almost 50 million accounts. The function was then deactivated. Now Facebook announced yesterday in a tweet the resumption of part of the feature. The "Ads from the public's point of view" returns. According to the company, this was used more often than the function of displaying something from the perspective of a specific person, which does not make the transparency of the privacy settings appear in a good light. Perhaps for this reason, the social network has also added an “edit public information” button, which should make it easier for users to manage the details on their profile that the public can see. While users previously had to make several clicks in the settings of their profile to change something, the new button will be integrated directly into the profile, making it easier to use.

Today, we're making it easier for people to manage their publicly visible information on Facebook with two updates: (1) we're bringing back the “View As Public” feature and (2) we're adding an “Edit Public Details "Button directly to profiles. pic.twitter.com/zI5bVwodjp

- Facebook (@facebook) May 14, 2019

In the course of the next few days, the function should be available again worldwide and the new button (as seen in the tweet) will be introduced. Facebook does not provide any information about why the reintroduction took more than seven months, while the security gap was closed relatively quickly in September. The functions supposedly give users a little more control over their data and fit perfectly into Zuckerberg's “The future is private” concept.