Who friends or friends choose

Notification when friends change their location in the “Where is?” App on the iPad

You can use the "Where is?" Use to get a notification when someone changes location. You can get notified when someone arrives at a location, leaves a location, or is not in a specific location.

Note: You can only create recurring notifications for friends who have two-factor authentication enabled. For more information, see the Apple Support article Two-Factor Authentication for Apple ID.

Conversely, you can also inform friends when your location changes. For more information, see Notify a friend when I change my location in the Find My app on iPad.

Receive notification when a person arrives or leaves a location

  1. Tap People, then tap the name of the person you want to be notified about.

  2. Under “Notifications”, tap “Add” and then “Message me”.

  3. Indicate whether you want to receive the notification when the friend arrives or when they leave.

  4. Select a location or tap New Location to create a new location and set a location radius.

    With a larger radius, you will be notified when your friend is close to the location, not just when they are exactly there.

  5. Choose whether you want to be notified only once or every time.

  6. Tap Add, then tap OK.

    Your friend will receive a notification after you have set the message. If you have selected a recurring notification, the other person must first confirm this before the function is active.

Receive notification when someone is not in a location

You can be notified if friends or family are not in a specific location at a specified time. For example, you can be notified if your child is out of school during class.

  1. Tap People, then tap the name of the person you want to be notified about.

  2. Under “Notifications”, tap “Add” and then “Message me”.

  3. Under "If", tap "[Friend's name] is not there ”.

  4. Select a location or tap New Location to create a new location and set a location radius.

    With a larger radius, you will be notified when your friend is close to the location, not just when they are exactly there.

  5. Choose when you want to be notified.

    • Time: Select the beginning and the end.

    • Days: Choose the days of the week you want.

  6. Tap Add, then tap OK.

    The other person must first agree to the notification before the function is active.

Change or deactivate the message

  1. Tap People, then tap the name of the person whose message you want to change or turn off.

    This could be a message you received through a friend or a message about you that a friend received.

  2. Under Notifications, tap the notification.

  3. Do one of the following:

    • Change message: Change any details and tap "Done".

    • Deactivate notification: Tap Delete Message, then tap Delete Message again.

Select people who will send you location updates

Anyone with an Apple ID can send you notifications when they arrive or leave a location. You can choose to receive these notifications from everyone or just from people you share your location with.

  1. Tap Me and Get Location Updates.

  2. Choose "People You Share With" or "For Everyone".

You can create up to 25 "message me" messages.